The year is 1971.  The voting age is lowered to 18, the movie “Shaft” hits the big screen, Three Dog Night spreads some "Joy To The World", and cigarette ads on TV are banned.  The UCLA Bruins win their 5th straight national championship in the 25 team NCAA Tournament, a new theme park in Orlando, FL opens its “Magic” Kingdom, and Don McLean’s American Pie ballad hits the airwaves.  The Roswell Hornets are Georgia’s Class A State Basketball Champions.

 Led by Bruce Stewart at 19.5 points per game and Lamar “Monk” Jones with 13.3 rebounds per game, the Hornets crush several regular season opponents, including a 101-47 demolition of arch rival Milton.  On their way to the championship, Roswell wins each state tournament game by double figures, culminating with a 65-52 win over Calhoun County in the state title game.

 Roswell lands four players on the state all-tournament team:  Walter Grogan, Lamar Jones, Bruce Stewart, and Jerry Summerour.  In addition, Bruce Stewart is named state tournament MVP, posting 27 points per game to lead the Hornets to the school’s first state basketball championship.



      The 1971 state champions will go on to very successful careers in and out of athletics in the years after graduation.  Two Hornets will become successful head coaches at the NCAA Division 1 level, Jeff Bower as football coach at his alma mater, the University of Southern Mississippi, and Bruce Stewart as basketball coach at Middle Tennessee State University.  Mike Ramsey will win a world series with the 1982 St. Louis Cardinals and enter the Appalachian State Hall of Fame.  Lamar “Monk” Jones will follow up a career at Dekalb College with 6 years playing in the Atlanta Braves and Pittsburgh Pirates organizations.  Bart Campbell becomes a 4-year baseball letterman at Georgia Tech, while Bob Williams ascends to President of Philips Arena.  John Freemon succeeds as a dentist in Woodstock, and Walter Grogan will serve honorably as an Officer in the U.S Army.



 Hal Black                    Mike Ramsey

Jeff Bower                   Bruce Stewart

Bart Campbell             Jerry Summerour

John Freemon             Dwight Taylor

Walter Grogan            Joe Thomason

Danny Johnson           Bob Williams

Lamar “Monk” Jones


 Head Coach Richard Smith

Asst. Coach Fred Williams


 Managers Randy Mabry,

Denny Pritchett, Eddie Robbins

 Ballboy Ricky Smith